Separate pyblish process from "Host" processes

Hi All, I am new to Pyblish and i’ve been reading through the tutorials following them quite simply. I am wondering if there is any way to create the pyblish process separate from say, Maya , and allow Maya to communicate with that UI through a unix socket perhaps? I would be glad if there is something i missed and if not maybe if someone could point me in the right direction.

The aim of this is to launch a maya session and when a user wants to publish, maya will send a message to a listening process that will spawn Pyblish outside the maya process so in the event of a crash or a hang on pyblish’s end, Maya will not be affected.

I am using PyblishQML for the GUI. Anything at all would be greatly appreciated, thank you!

Hi @jamalm and welcome to Pyblish!

Yes, that should be trivial. Simply make a Python script and call it from mayapy

publish_from_mayapy.py

from maya import standalone
standalone.initialize()

import pyblish_qml
pyblish_qml.show()

Then from Maya, you can call it as such.

From Maya

import subprocess
subprocess.Popen([
   "/absolute/path/to/mayapy",
   "/absolute/path/to/publish_from_mayapy.py"
])

This should open a new console window, where Pyblish (mayapy) will start outputting messages, like you would normally see in Maya Script Editor when running from the same process.

Once you’ve got that running, you might want to pass the current scene file to it.

publish_from_mayapy.py

import argparse

parser = argparse.ArgumentParser()
parser.add_argument("scenefile")

args = parser.parse_args()

from maya import standalone, cmds
standalone.initialize()

cmds.file(args.scenefile, open=True, force=True)

import pyblish_qml
pyblish_qml.show()

To call this, you’d probably save your scene, and pass the path to it as an argument.

From Maya

import subprocess
from maya import cmds

cmds.file(save=True)
scenefile = cmds.file(sceneName=True, query=True)

subprocess.Popen([
   "/absolute/path/to/mayapy",